Chronology of Dallas Theological Seminary

This is a supplement to the Spring 2005 Exhibit Celebrating 80 Years: Highlights from the History of Dallas Theological Seminary, 1924-2004.

1924 Evangelical Theological College founded.
1926 Current campus site purchased.
1927 Davidson Hall erected.
Doctor of Theology (Th.D.) degree program initiated.
1929 Stearns Hall built.
1934 Publishing of Bibliotheca Sacra assumed.
1935 Master of Theology program began.
1936 Name changed to Dallas Theological Seminary and Graduate School of Theology.
1952 John F. Walvoord became second president.
1953 Chafer Chapel completed.
1959 Mosher Library erected.
1969 Accreditation received from the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.
Name changed to Dallas Theological Seminary.
Lincoln Hall purchased.
1971 Summer School program launched.
1974 Master of Arts in Biblical Studies program began.
Todd Academic Center built.
1975 Campbell Academic Center erected.
First women students admitted.
1980 Doctor of Ministry program began.
1981 Walvoord Student Center built.
1982 Master of Arts in Christian Education program began.
1986 Donald K. Campbell became third president.
1987 Master of Arts in Cross-cultural Ministries program began.
1988 Howard G. Hendricks Center for Christian Leadership purchased.
Turpin Library dedicated.
1989 San Antonio extension program began.
1991 Certificate of Graduates Studies program began.
1992 Christian Education concentration in D.Min. program introduced.
1993 Houston and Chattanooga extension programs began.
Master of Arts in Biblical Counseling and Master of Arts in Biblical Exegesis and Linguistics programs started.
Mitchell Ministries Center opened.
Th.D. degree nomenclature changed to Ph.D.
1994 Charles R. Swindoll became fourth president
Accreditation received from the Association of Theological Schools.
Tampa extension program began.
2001 Mark Bailey became fifth president.
2002 Swiss Tower opened.